You are here

The Northern String Quartet

7 Mar 2020 - 19:30

The Northern String Quartet is an exciting and charismatic ensemble which is rapidly rising in the chamber music world. Its’ members were trained at the prestigious and worldwide renowned Royal Northern College of Music and have performed together as a quartet for over a decade in many concerts across the UK.  They enjoy a busy schedule around the year performing in many events across the country as well as session work around the North West.  The Northern String Quartet has also collaborated with world acclaimed soloist such as: clarinettist Emma Johnson, guitarist Jon Gjylaci, and pianist Martin Jacoby.

The Northern String Quartet members (Nikolas Esen Gkylatsi - Violin 1, Alexandra Finlaison - Violin 2, Laurie Dempsey – Viola, Joshua Lynch – Cello) also perform with highly acclaimed orchestras such as Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, Halle Orchestra, Opera North & Manchester Camerata.

The Northern String Quartet are performing at Threlkeld Village Hall on Saturday 7th March at 7:30pm. Bar and box office from 7pm. Tickets £12 (£6 under 18s) from village hall coffee shop, village PO or on-line here below. Box Office enquiries 07733 790308. TICKETS BOUGHT ON LINE WILL BE AVAILABLE FOR COLLECTION FROM THE BOX OFFICE ON THE NIGHT


1st Half:

J.S. Bach: Bradenburg Concerto No.6 - (Composed in 1718) - (Original scoring for 2 violas, cello, 2 viols, basso continuo): a) Allegro; b) Adagio ma non tanto; c) Allegro

E. Elgar: Salut D'Amour Op.12 - (Composed in 1888) - (Original scoring for violin & piano): a) Andante

C. Debussy: Suite Bergamasque: Clair De Lune - (Composed in 1890) - (Original scoring for piano solo): a) Andante très expressif

G. Faure: Pavane Op.50 - (Composed in 1887) - (Original scoring for piano & chorus): a) Andante molto moderato

A. Vivaldi: Concerto in B-flat major Op.4 No.1 "La Stravaganza" - (Composed in 1712) - (Original scoring for Violin, String Orchestra & Basso Continuo): a) Allegro; b) Largo e cantabile; c) Allegro


2nd Half:

J.Haydn: String quartet in D minor - (Composed in 1797) - (Original scoring for string quartet): a) Allegro; b) Andante o più tosto allegretto; c) Menuetto; d) Vivace assai

S. Barber: Adagio for Strings in b-flat minor - (Composed in 1936) - (Original scoring for string quartet): a) Molto adagio

J. Massenet: Meditation from the opera "Thaïs"  - (Composed in 1894) - (Original scoring for solo violin & orchestra): a) Andante religioso

B. Bartok: Romanian Folk Dances Sz.56 - (Composed in 1915) - (Original scoring for piano solo, but Bartok himself arranged it for strings in 1917): a) Bot tánc / Jocul cu bâtă (Stick Dance); b) Brâul (Sash Dance); c) Topogó / Pe loc (In One Spot); d) Bucsumí tánc / Buciumeana (Dance from Bucsum); e) Román polka / Poarga Românească (Romanian Polka); f)  Aprózó / Mărunțel (Fast Dance)




Tickets :

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer